The Works of Tobias Smollett

Works of the eighteenth-century British man of letters in a definitive, authoritatively edited uniform edition. Each series volume includes an authoritative text, historical and critical introduction, explanatory notes, and textual commentary and apparatus. The final volume in the series, publication date to be determined, is The Adventures of Peregrine Pickle.

Alexander Pettit, a professor of English at the University of North Texas, specializes in Restoration and eighteenth-century literature. His books include Illusory Consensus and Textual Studies and the Common Reader (Georgia). In addition to his work on the Smollett series, Pettit is general and textual editor of the Selected Works of Eliza Haywood, textual editor of the Cambridge Edition of the Works of Samuel Richardson, and general editor of British Ideas and Issues, 1660–1820.

Pettit's essays have appeared in Philological Quarterly, The Eighteenth Century: Theory and Interpretation, Eighteenth-Century Fiction, Papers in Language and Literature, 1650–1850: Ideas, Aesthetics, and Inquiries in the Early Modern Era, Studies in the Literary Imagination, The Age of Johnson, Huntington Library Quarterly, and other journals.

Books in this series

No books yet published for this series.

General Editor
Alexander Pettit

Textual Editor
O M Brack Jr.

Download the series flyer