The National Poetry Series

Established in 1978, The National Poetry Series is a literary awards program which sponsors the publication of five books of poetry each year. The manuscripts, solicited through an annual open competition, are selected by poets of national stature and published by a distinguished group of trade, university, and small presses.

The specific purposes for which this organization is incorporated are:

Books in this series

The Cloud That Contained the Lightning
Poems by Cynthia Lowen
Selected by Nikky Finney

Exit, Civilian
Poems by Idra Novey
Selected by Patricia Smith

Here Be Monsters
Poems by Colin Cheney
Selected by David Wojahn

If Birds Gather Your Hair For Nesting
Poems by Anna Journey
Selected by Thomas Lux

Poems by Simeon Berry
Selected by Denise Duhamel

Poems by William Billiter
Selected by Hilda Raz

Poems by Danniel Schoonebeek
Selected by Kevin Prufer

What It Doesn’t Have to Do With
Poems by Lindsay Bernal
Selected by Paul Guest

What Ridiculous Things We Could Ask of Each Other
Poems by Jeffrey Schultz
Selected by Kevin Young


Download the series flyer

Participating Publishers

Coffee House Press
Fence Books
HarperCollins Publishers
Penguin Books
University of Georgia Press