The Cave Canem Poetry Prize

Established in 1999, this first book award is dedicated to the discovery of exceptional manuscripts by African American poets who have not been professionally published. The winner will receive $1,000 cash, publication, and fifty copies of their book. Winner, contest judge, and finalists are also featured in a public reading in New York City, co-sponsored by the Academy of American Poets. Winning volumes are published on a revolving basis by the University of Georgia Press, the University of Pittsburgh Press, and Graywolf Press.

Books in this series

Begin with a Failed Body
Poems by Natalie J. Graham
Selected by Kwame Dawes

A Gathering of Matter / A Matter of Gathering
Poems by Dawn Lundy Martin
Foreword by Carl Phillips

Leaving Saturn
Poems by Major Jackson
Foreword by Al Young

The Listening
Poems by Kyle Dargan
Foreword by Quincy Troupe

Spit Back a Boy
Poems by Iain Haley Pollock

Zero to Three
Poems by F. Douglas Brown
Selected by Tracy K. Smith


Download the series flyer