Brown Thrasher Books

The Brown Thrasher Books imprint is dedicated to publishing literary and creative works about Georgia or by Georgia writers. Initially created in 1980, Brown Thrasher Books sought to publish books of lasting value about Georgia in a wide array of subjects including both fiction and nonfiction. Many were books that had been previously published or were out of print. The new incarnation of Brown Thrasher Books is focused solely on literary and creative works. Books under the imprint can be previously published works or new works that will be designated A Brown Thrasher Books Original.

Books in this series

Colors of Africa
James Kilgo
With illustrations by the author

A Cry of Angels
A Novel by Jeff Fields
Foreword by Terry Kay

Daughter of My People
A Novel by James Kilgo

Deep South
Memory and Observation
Erskine Caldwell
Foreword by Guy Owen

The Hard-Boiled Virgin
A Novel by Frances Newman
Foreword by Anne Firor Scott

A Little Salvation
Poems Old and New
Judson Mitcham

Winter Sky
New and Selected Poems, 1968–2008
Coleman Barks

The Year the Lights Came On
A Novel by Terry Kay
Afterword by William J. Scheick