Stories from the Flannery O’Connor Award
A 30th Anniversary Anthology: The Early Years

Edited by Charles East


“One of the most prestigious series in university press publishing.”
—Alan Cheuse, NPR

“A splendid outlet for committed writers of the short story.”
Atlanta Journal-Constitution

More / Hide


A tribute to the art of the short story and an anthology of some of today's most exciting writers, this thirtieth anniversary volume brings together stories from the first fifteen years of the Flannery O'Connor Award for Short Fiction (1983–1997).

The Flannery O'Connor Award was established to encourage gifted young writers by bringing their work to the attention of readers and reviewers. The first volume in the series was published in 1983 to critical acclaim, and the award has since become an important proving ground for new writers.

This anthology is a showcase for the talent and promise that have brought about a resurgence in the short story, as well as testimony to the vitality of the genre.

Featured Stories: 

David Walton • Skin and Bone

Leigh Allison Wilson • South of the Border

Sandra Thompson • Horror Show

Susan Neville • Banquet

Mary Hood • A Country Girl

François Camoin • Peacock Blue

Molly Giles • Pie Dance

Daniel Curley • Trinity

Peter Meinke • The Ponoes

Tony Ardizzone • World Without End

Salvatore La Puma • The Mouthpiece

Melissa Pritchard • La Bête: A Figure Study

Philip F. Deaver • Wilbur Gray Falls in Love with an Idea

Gail Galloway Adams • Inside Dope

Carole L. Glickfeld • What My Mother Knows

Antonya Nelson • The Expendables

Nancy Zafris • The Metal Shredders

Debra Monroe • The Source of Trouble

Robert H. Abel • Appetizer

T. M. McNally • Jet Stream

Alfred DePew • Voici! Henri!

Dennis Hathaway • Space and Light

Rita Ciresi • Mother Rocket

Dianne Nelson Oberhansly • A Brief History of Male Nudes in America

Christopher McIlroy • All of My Relations

Alyce Miller • Tommy

Carol Lee Lorenzo • Nervous Dancer

C. M. Mayo • The Jaguarundi

Wendy Brenner • Guest Speaker

Paul Rawlins • Home and Family

Harvey Grossinger • Home Burial

Ha Jin • In Broad Daylight

Andy Plattner • Winter Money


List price: $6.95
Check ebook availability

Charles East (1924-2009) served as editor of the Flannery O'Connor Award for Short Fiction series since it was established. He is the author of two collections of short stories, Where the Music Was (Georgia) and Distant Friends and Intimate Strangers.