Rebecca Harding Davis’s Stories of the Civil War Era
Selected Writings from the Borderlands

Edited by Sharon M. Harris and Robin L. Cadwallader

The first anthology of Davis’s Civil War–era work


"Harris and Cadwallader's collection reveals the stark complexities of a nation divided, and rightfully situates Davis's work as a necessary, vital commentary on 19th-century American life and letters."
Choice magazine

"In this shrewd and refreshing collection, Robin L. Cadwallader and Sharon M. Harris introduce readers to some of the most important short stories by one of the most prolific and respected writers of the nineteenth century. They resituate Davis in literary history and invite us to read her work from a new perspective."
—Lisa A. Long, editor of White Scholars / African American Texts

More / Hide

The ten stories gathered here show Rebecca Harding Davis to be an acute observer of the conflicts and ambiguities of a divided nation and position her as a major transitional writer between romanticism and realism. Capturing the fluctuating cultural environment of the Civil War and Reconstruction eras, the stories explore such issues as racial prejudice and slavery, the loneliness and powerlessness of women, and the effects of postwar market capitalism on the working classes. Davis’s characters include soldiers and civilians, men and women, young and old, blacks and whites. Instead of focusing (like many writers of the period) on major conflicts and leaders, Davis takes readers into the intimate battles fought on family farms and backwoods roads, delving into the minds of those who experienced the destruction on both sides of the conflict.

Davis spent the war years in the Pennsylvania and Virginia borderlands, a region she called a “vast armed camp.” Here, divided families, ravaged communities, and shifting loyalties were the norm. As the editors say, “Davis does not limit herself to writing about slavery, abolition, or reconstruction. Instead, she shows us that through the fighting, the rebuilding, and the politics, life goes on. Even during a war, people must live: they work, eat, sleep, and love.”

Page count: 384 pp.
Trim size: 6 x 9


List price: $76.95

buy button
View Shopping Cart

List price: $30.95

buy button
View Shopping Cart

List price: $24.95
Check ebook availability

Sharon M. Harris is a professor of English at the University of Connecticut, Storrs. She is the author of Rebecca Harding Davis and American Realism and coeditor of Rebecca Harding Davis: Writing Cultural Autobiography. Her other books include Mercy Otis Warren: Selected Letters (Georgia). Robin L. Cadwallader is an associate professor of English at Saint Francis University. She is the managing editor of Legacy: A Journal of American Women Writers and founder of the Society for the Study of Rebecca Harding Davis and Her World.