The Flannery O’Connor Award
Selected Stories

Edited by Charles East

A tenth-anniversary anthology


"Skillfully crafted, eclectic both in subject matter and narrative style, these tales by such emerging writers as Molly Giles, Salvatore La Puma, Tony Ardizzone and others testify to the durabilty of the genre. In the best of them, memory—whether tinged with loss or heightened by hope—enhances voice and confers the ring of truth."
Publishers Weekly

A tribute to the art of the short story and an anthology of some of today's most exciting writers, this tenth anniversary volume brings together one story from each of the twenty-one winners of the Flannery O'Connor Award for Short Fiction.

The Flannery O'Connor Award was established to encourage gifted young writers by bringing their work to the attention of readers and reviewers. The first volume in the series was published in 1983 to critical acclaim, and the award has since become an important proving ground for new writers.

Including some of the most memorable stories published in this country during the last decade, The Flannery O'Connor Award is a showcase for the talent and promise that have brough about a resurgence in the short story, as well as testimony to the vitality of the genre.

Page count: 336 pp.
Trim size: 5.5 x 8.5


List price: $26.95

buy button
View Shopping Cart

Charles East (1924–2009) served as editor of the Flannery O' Connor Award for Short Fiction series since it was established. He is the author of two collections of short stories, Where the Music Was (Georgia) and Distant Friends and Intimate Strangers.